Meyersdale Public Library Services
The library will send faxes at a cost of $1.00 per page. A confirmation receipt will be provided to you at no cost.
Copies can be made for $0.20 per page for letter size and $0.25 for legal size.
The library has a variety of books, videos and audios for sale on a regular basis.
Free Wi-Fi Internet Access:
Free wireless Internet service is offered to the public. Please ask the library staff for more information.
Computer and Internet use are available to the public at no charge. Prints can be made for $0.20 per page.
Applying for a Library Card
Library cards are free to the public and can be used within the Somerset County Federated Library System. You and/or your parent or guardian can register for a card at the circulation desk. Ages 16 and up are eligible for their own card. Ages 15 and under can obtain a card that is co-signed by their parent/guardian. Anyone who wishes to obtain a library card must provide a valid photo ID (driver's license, state ID, passport, school ID, etc.) and proof of address (utility bill, lease agreement, etc.).
The initial library card is free of charge. If lost, the replacement cost is $1.00. A valid photo ID must be presented before a card will be replaced.
A library card will not be replaced for users with blocked accounts or overdue books until the account is cleared.
If a library card is lost or stolen, notify the library immediately. Patrons are still responsible for items checked out on their account up until the time the library is notified.
Library cards are only issued to residents, employees, property holders, or students of Somerset County, PA upon presentation of a valid photo ID and proof of Somerset Co. address.
If you are a Pennsylvania resident but do not live or work in Somerset County, you may apply for a free library card by using your home library card with an Access PA sticker.
If you live or work in Pennsylvania, but do not have a home library card, a card will be issued to you at a rate of $15 per year.
Library cards will not be issued to out-of-state residents; with the exception of residents from Garrett County and Allegany County in Maryland. There is currently no charge for these residents and no home library card needs to be presented. Items checked out to Garrett and Allegany County Maryland residents is limited to two books or audio books and two videos, for a total of four items.
Reference and genealogy items do not check out but can be used on the premises.
A library card must be presented to use library services, such as using a computer, checking out books, or renewing items on an account.
Library services will not be blocked until fines have exceeded $10.00 or if there are 10 or more overdue items on an account.
Books, audiocassettes, and multimedia kits can be checked out for two weeks, and can be renewed twice as long as no reserve has been placed on the item by another patron. After two renewals the items must be returned. You must wait 24 hours before checking the same item out again. There is total limit of 100 items per person.
Videos and DVDs are limited to FIVE (5) per person and checked out for a period of one week. They can be renewed twice as long as no reserve has been placed on the item by another patron. You must wait 24 hours before checking the same item out again.
E-books and e-audiobooks are available for free download from our website through OneClick Digital and OverDrive. Please see each link for specific check out periods.
Under certain circumstances items may be extended beyond the traditional check out period, with the exception of e-books and e-audiobooks. If an extension is needed, please contact the library for assistance.
Items not available at the Meyersdale Public Library may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan when possible.
The staff would also be happy to help you place a hold on an item you wish to borrow that is already checked out.
Our online catalog, Evergreen, allows you to access your account from your home computer. You have the ability to renew books, place holds, create a favorites list, and leave comments on books. If you need assistance learning how to use this service, please contact the library and we would be glad to help.
Books, Audiocasette/Multimedia Kits:
Fines are $0.25 per item, per day. If returned one day late, no fine will be assessed. Maximum fine is the cost of the book.
Videos and DVDs:
Fines are $1.00 per item, per day. If returned one day late, no fine will be assessed. Maximum fine is the cost of the video.
Lost or Damaged books:
The cost of a damaged item will be assessed at the time the item is turned in, with the maximum cost being the replacement cost of the item.
If your item is lost please call and let us know; we understand this happens and we are willing to work with you. If we are unaware that your book is lost, late fees will keep accruing on your account. When we are notified the book is lost, the fine will stop accruing, and you will be responsible for paying the overdue fines, replacement cost of the item, and a $12.50 processing fee. As an alternative, we offer several additional renewals on the overdue items to give you more time to look for it, unless the item has been placed on reserve by another patron.
Once an item has been overdue for 21 days, the system will automatically mark the item as lost and you will be billed for the item. If you cannot afford the charge we will discuss a repayment plan, but your library privileges may be reduced until the balance is below $10.00. If you found your book and have not yet paid the fee, please return it and the bill will be voided. We would prefer to have the book back than to charge you for it.
We will send several notices to inform you that your book is overdue. If we do not receive a response or no solution can be reached, we will file a complaint with the Magistrate's office. Please communicate with us and we will help you the best we can.
There is no charge for onsite genealogical research and assistance, although donations are gladly accepted and appreciated. Research by mail is $15 per hour, payable in advance. After the initial one hour charge it will be determined if further research would prove fruitful, and you will be asked if you wish the research to continue. The cost for an obituary is $5.00 per obituary, with exact date of death. With month of death only, the above hourly fee is applicable. Copies are $0.20 per page for black and white or $0.40 per page for color. Please see the genealogy page for further information about our genealogy research services.
The Library Director is available to read at your school, head start, pre-k, or daycare. This service typically includes a story, an interactive game or song, and an activity packet for the children to take home. Please contact the library for additional information or to schedule a program at your facility. There is no charge for this service.
Free GED classes are offered on site. Please call the library for the current schedule.
Careerlink is available for free job related assistance from 10am-1pm on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month.
Preschool Story Hour:
Preschool Story Hour is offered from September through May, every Friday, from 10-11am.
Annual summer reading program:
A summer reading program is offered during the summer for children, teens, and adults. Watch our website for upcoming details, or contact the library for further information.
Computer Help Now Available @ The LibraryAre you looking for help with Microsft products, creating a resume, setting up email account, basic Internet or computer use? You can now call to schedule a 45 minute session with a knowledgable librarian who will give you one on one attention.